Local Election Results Discussion


The results of the 2018 General Election are in, and even though we don’t have the final totals because some districts haven’t yet reported, we know who all the winners are. Overall, other than Lauren Underwood ousting Randy Hultgren from Congress, there wasn’t much change across the DeKalb County political landscape.

Illinois Statewide Offices

Illinois became even bluer, as Democrats swept all five of the Illinois Statewide leadership positions, both among DeKalb County voters and overall. JB Pritzker (Governor), Kwame Raoul (Attorney General), Jesse White (Secretary of State), Susana Mendoza (Comptroller) and Michael Frerichs (Treasurer) will lead the State of Illinois for the next four years.

U.S. House of Representatives

Lauren Underwood (D) rode the blue wave in Illinois into Congress by defeating 4-term incumbent Randy Hultgren (R). She received almost 52% of the votes in DeKalb County and overall. Being a nurse, Underwood heavily emphasized her commitment to accessible and affordable healthcare and that seemed to be winning issue for her and many Democrats nationally.

In the 16th District congressional race, even though Sara Dady (D) got over 56% of the votes in DeKalb County, she was defeated by Adam Kinzinger (R) by a comfortable margin. Outside of Dekalb County, the 16th District is solidly Republican and Kinzinger apparently knew his seat was never in danger, as he declined to show up for any of the public candidate events leading up to the election.

Illinois General Assembly

Dave Syverson (R), running unopposed, was re-elected in the 35th District for the Illinois State Senate. In the 45th District, State Representative Brian Stewart (R) of Freeport handily defeated David Simpson (D) of Shabbona for the other State Senate seat representing part of DeKalb County.

Despite losing in DeKalb County by 5% to Paul Stoddard (D), Jeff Keicher (R) was able to retain the 70th District State Representative seat he was appointed to back in July when Bob Pritchard retired.
In the 90th District, the Republican incumbent Tom Demmer (R) of Dixon appears to have comfortably defeated Amy Davis (D) for his second term in the Illinois House.

DeKalb County Elected Officials

In the races for DeKalb County Clerk and Treasurer, both Johnsons were re-elected. Doug Johnson (R) won a close contest with Democrat, Carolyn Morris for County Clerk. Meanwhile, Christine Johnson (R) secured an 11-point victory over political newcomer, Liliana Orozco (D) to earn a 7th term as DeKalb County Treasurer.

DeKalb County Sheriff, Roger Scott (R) and DeKalb County Regional School Superintendent, Amanda Christensen (D), ran unopposed and were re-elected to new terms.

DeKalb County Board

In the DeKalb County Board elections, the only non-incumbent to defeat a challenger was Larry West (R), who beat Fred Hall (D) for the vacant seat in District 1. All other incumbents facing opponents won their races. Those included Timothy Hughes (R) in District 2, Timothy Bagby (R) in District 3, Dianne Leifheit (R) in District 8, Jim Luebke (D) in District 9, Dan Cribben (R) in District 11, and Suzanne Willis (D) also in District 11.

County Board candidates running unopposed were Maureen Little (R) in District 2, Steve Faivre (D) in District 4, Linda Slabon (D) in District 5, Rukisha Crawford (D) in District 6, Clyde Scott Campbell (D) in District 7, and John Frieders (R) in District 12.

With the 2018 elections complete, the DeKalb County Board makeup will continue to be evenly split with twelve Democrats and twelve Republicans.

Judges & Referendums

Judges Robert McLaren (N) (79.0%), Melissa Barnhart (R) (81.4%) and Ronald Matekaitis (D) (78.7%) were all retained.

In the three ballot referendums for DeKalb County residents, voters said “NO” to allowing Squaw Grove Township to select an electrical provider for residents who don’t opt out; Paw Paw School District WILL be allowed to dissolve and send their high school students to Indian Creek High School beginning next academic year; and the Hampshire Fire Protection District WILL be allowed to levy a .1 percent property tax for new equipment and increased staffing.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.